Link to Gloria Estefan

I want to share a little story.
 
Back in 1990, the MEM and I went on a cross country trip from Cali to Florida. 
 
We ended up in the Keys, a lovely spot and of course, I sat in the same bar as Mr. Hemingway!!  That was a thrill for the K.
During that trip, being all prepared for vacation of course, along with the serious bag of bud, I could think of nothing but sipping those tropical drinks on the white sands of those beautiful beaches. I lived in that state while a young girl for a few years, I already loved Florida cept for the what?, humidity!! Yes, yes and a very good guess~I love the sudden and sometimes wild storms that Mother Nature blesses us with though!
 
Anyway, as we were driving well, while that man was driving, I would think it time to smoke.  Couldn’t do it!  Made me sick! Same as the frou-frou drinks..the ones I’d been dreaming of for months, got on that sand, ordered the drink, got the gorgeous thing wetly in my hand and bam! Just couldn’t do it!  What the heck?  
 
As we were driving home, I think Gloria’s tour bus was in the horrible accident. I know it was actually. I distinctly remember feeling like: Wow..she is coming home to Florida, I was leaving and I had already adored her cuteness and pep and overcomeness…She was hot, the Miami Sound Machine rocked! 
 
When we returned home, after telling my tale of no inbibing to my pretend sister in law…she made us go right then and get a pregnancy test. 
 
Yes, I was pregnant, with my third son, Jordan!
 
He was born that November.. a wonderful, beautiful, ready for the world little guy….
 
Now so, so many years later the song that is lifting my spirits lately, the one I can play over and over again, "Coming out of the dark" is my motivator to get my life going again. I even pretend I am dancing on some stage. The music, all the music, as always, has soothed, rocked, made me cry…basically my life therapy. 
 
Watching the beautiful Gloria sing that song in that white dress, so full of power and light and her amazing strength,  The tears just kept coming that night. I had the same reaction last week while watching her perform via youtube.  
 
I was so proud of her. This woman I didn’t know.
 
This song resonates so with me because that baby that I was pregnant with in 1990, my beautiful Jordy, took his own life this past January.  His precious soul, his angel soul, is urging me, pushing me to get my work out there. 
 
Once again, Jordan has saved my life.
 
 
Leave a Reply

